Black Cake

Black Cake

THE INSTANT NO. 2 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER **Featured on Barack Obama's Summer Reading List 2022** **A Grazia Instagram 'IT' book to watch out for** Everyone wants to discover what they're made of . . . Juggling lives and crossing continents, BLACK CAKE is the extraordinary story of how the inheritance of secrets, betrayal and memories can shape a family for generations 'A story as meaningful as it is delicious. At turns delightfully juicy and then stunningly wise, Black Cake is a winner' TAYLOR JENKINS REID 'A roiling soup of family secrets, big lies, great loves, bright colours and strong smells' NEW YORK TIMES 'The scenes are so well drawn I could almost taste the cake. My heart broke and was put back together. Bravo' NIKKI MAY, author of Wahala ________ Eleanor Bennett won't let her own death get in the way of the truth. So when her estranged children - Byron and Benny - reunite for her funeral in California, they discover a puzzling inheritance. First, a voice recording in which everything Byron and Benny ever knew about their family is upended. Their mother narrates a tumultuous story about a headstrong young woman who escapes her island home under suspicion of murder, a story which cuts right to the heart of the rift that's separated Byron and Benny. Second, a traditional Caribbean black cake made from a family recipe that Eleanor hopes will heal the wounds of the past. Can Byron and Benny fulfil their mother's final request to 'share the black cake when the time is right'? Or will Eleanor's revelations leave them feeling more lost than ever? ________ **Soon to be a major drama series for Hulu by Oprah Winfrey, Aaron Kaplan and Marissa Jo Cerar** 'I loved the brilliant writing, the characters and the clever and beautiful way the story melded together. A stunning book' PRIMA, 'BOOK OF THE MONTH' 'A special, beautifully written novel that's as rich and intoxicating as the Jamaican rum cake of its title' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING 'I [. . .] was immediately drawn in' BONNIE GARMUS, bestselling author of LESSONS IN CHEMISTRY 'A heartfelt story of loss, lies and reconciliation' DAILY MAIL 'A sparkling debut, which examines migration, estrangement and the stories we tell about ourselves' METRO 'An extremely assured debut which pulls in threads and echoes from across the Caribbean diaspora to deliver a rich, complex and really satisfying novel' ALISON FINCH, BBC Radio 4 'I was instantly taken in by this multi-generational tale of identity, family, and the lifelong push and pull of home. This novel has a tremendous heart at its centre, and I felt its beat on every page. What an extraordinary debut' MARY BETH KEANE, author of Ask Again, Yes

Download Now

Author
Publisher Penguin UK
Release Date
ISBN 1405950099
Pages 344 pages
Rating 4/5 (91 users)

More Books:

Black Cake
Language: en
Pages: 344
Authors: Charmaine Wilkerson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-02-03 - Publisher: Penguin UK

GET EBOOK

THE INSTANT NO. 2 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER **Featured on Barack Obama's Summer Reading List 2022** **A Grazia Instagram 'IT' book to watch out for** Everyone w
Sweet Hands
Language: en
Pages: 292
Authors: Ramin Ganeshram
Categories: Cooking
Type: BOOK - Published: 2005-10-31 - Publisher: Hippocrene Books

GET EBOOK

SUPERANNO Chef-journalist Ramin Ganeshram introduces readers to the rich, eclectic cuisine of her father's homeland, Trinidad—where African, Indian, Chinese a
Dictionary of the English/Creole of Trinidad & Tobago
Language: en
Pages: 1072
Authors: Lise Winer
Categories: Reference
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-01-16 - Publisher: McGill-Queen's Press - MQUP

GET EBOOK

Using the historical principles of the Oxford English Dictionary, Lise Winer presents the first scholarly dictionary of this unique language. The dictionary com
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America
Language: en
Pages: 2556
Authors: Andrew Smith
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-01-31 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

GET EBOOK

Home cooks and gourmets, chefs and restaurateurs, epicures, and simple food lovers of all stripes will delight in this smorgasbord of the history and culture of
In the Kitchen with A Good Appetite
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Melissa Clark
Categories: Cooking
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-09-07 - Publisher: Hachette UK

GET EBOOK

"Melissa Clark's recipes are as lively and diverse as ever, drawing on influences from Marrakech to Madrid to the Mississippi Delta. She has her finger on the p
Mrs. John G. Carlisle's Kentucky Cook Book
Language: en
Pages: 264
Authors: Mary Jane Goodson Carlisle
Categories: Cooking
Type: BOOK - Published: 1893 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK

Podcasting for Profit
Language: en
Pages: 342
Authors: Leesa Barnes
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-09-01 - Publisher: Maximum Press

GET EBOOK

Provides a plan for using the fast-growing world of video and audio podcasting, to promote a business and turn a profit.
Home Cooking
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Laurie Colwin
Categories: Cooking
Type: BOOK - Published: 2025-10-09 - Publisher: Penguin UK

GET EBOOK

Published for the first time in the UK, Laurie Colwin's much loved kitchen essays are perfect for fans of Nigella Lawson and Nigel Slater. Weaving together memo
Sensory Experiments
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Erica Fretwell
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-09-25 - Publisher: Duke University Press

GET EBOOK

In Sensory Experiments, Erica Fretwell excavates the nineteenth-century science of psychophysics and its theorizations of sensation to examine the cultural and
21 | 19
Language: en
Pages: 230
Authors: Alexandra Manglis
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-08-13 - Publisher: Milkweed Editions

GET EBOOK

Essays on the modern relevance of Thoreau, Whitman, Dickinson, and more “suggest the ways poetry might be both agitator and balm in times of social crisis”