Black Cake

Black Cake

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NEW YORK TIMES EDITORS’ CHOICE • READ WITH JENNA BOOK CLUB PICK AS FEATURED ON TODAY • In this moving debut novel, two estranged siblings deal with their mother’s death and her hidden past—a journey of discovery that takes them from the Caribbean to London to California and ends with her famous black cake. “At turns delightfully juicy and then stunningly wise, Black Cake is a winner.”—Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and Daisy Jones & The Six ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2022—Glamour, Bustle, Marie Claire, Essence, Parade, Business Insider, Town & Country, Vulture, PopSugar, W magazine, BookPage In development as a Hulu original series produced by Marissa Jo Cerar, Oprah Winfrey (Harpo Films), and Kapital Entertainment We can’t choose what we inherit. But can we choose who we become? In present-day California, Eleanor Bennett’s death leaves behind a puzzling inheritance for her two children, Byron and Benny: a traditional Caribbean black cake, made from a family recipe with a long history, and a voice recording. In her message, Eleanor shares a tumultuous story about a headstrong young swimmer who escapes her island home under suspicion of murder. The heartbreaking tale Eleanor unfolds, the secrets she still holds back, and the mystery of a long-lost child, challenge everything the siblings thought they knew about their lineage, and themselves. Can Byron and Benny reclaim their once-close relationship, piece together Eleanor’s true history, and fulfill her final request to “share the black cake when the time is right”? Will their mother’s revelations bring them back together or leave them feeling more lost than ever? Charmaine Wilkerson’s debut novel is a story of how the inheritance of betrayals, secrets, memories, and even names, can shape relationships and history. Deeply evocative and beautifully written, Black Cake is an extraordinary journey through the life of a family changed forever by the choices of its matriarch.

Download Now

Author
Publisher Ballantine Books
Release Date
ISBN 0593358341
Pages 400 pages
Rating 4/5 (44 users)

More Books:

Black Cake
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Charmaine Wilkerson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-02-01 - Publisher: Ballantine Books

GET EBOOK

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NEW YORK TIMES EDITORS’ CHOICE • READ WITH JENNA BOOK CLUB PICK AS FEATURED ON TODAY • In this moving debut novel, two estra
Sweet Hands
Language: en
Pages: 247
Authors: Ramin Ganeshram
Categories: Cooking
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006 - Publisher: Hippocrene Books

GET EBOOK

SUPERANNO Chef-journalist Ramin Ganeshram introduces readers to the rich, eclectic cuisine of her father's homeland, Trinidad—where African, Indian, Chinese a
Dictionary of the English/Creole of Trinidad & Tobago
Language: en
Pages: 1072
Authors: Lise Winer
Categories: Reference
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-01-16 - Publisher: McGill-Queen's Press - MQUP

GET EBOOK

Using the historical principles of the Oxford English Dictionary, Lise Winer presents the first scholarly dictionary of this unique language. The dictionary com
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America
Language: en
Pages: 2182
Authors: Andrew Smith
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-01-31 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK

The second edition of the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America, originally published in September 2004, covers the significant events, inventions, a
Maida Heatter's Cakes
Language: en
Pages: 354
Authors: Maida Heatter
Categories: Cooking
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-03-29 - Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

GET EBOOK

Presents a collection of detailed recipes for such desserts as layer cakes, chocolate cakes, cheesecakes, fruitcakes, yeast cakes, sweet breads, muffins, ginger
Warm Bread and Honey Cake
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Gaitri Pagrach-Chandra
Categories: Cooking
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-11-23 - Publisher: Pavilion

GET EBOOK

A comprehensive and unparalleled collection of breads, cakes and pastries from around the world, this beautiful sourcebook of recipes is also a well-researched
Home Cooking
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Laurie Colwin
Categories: Cooking
Type: BOOK - Published: 2025-10-09 - Publisher: Penguin UK

GET EBOOK

Published for the first time in the UK, Laurie Colwin's much loved kitchen essays are perfect for fans of Nigella Lawson and Nigel Slater. Weaving together memo
Podcasting for Profit
Language: en
Pages: 342
Authors: Leesa Barnes
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-09-01 - Publisher: Maximum Press

GET EBOOK

Provides a plan for using the fast-growing world of video and audio podcasting, to promote a business and turn a profit.
Mrs. John G. Carlisle's Kentucky Cook Book
Language: en
Pages: 237
Authors: Mary Jane Goodson Carlisle
Categories: Cooking, American
Type: BOOK - Published: 1893 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK

Out of Kentucky Kitchens
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Marion Flexner
Categories: Cooking
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-03-12 - Publisher: University Press of Kentucky

GET EBOOK

Down-home Southern cooking is as much a part of Kentucky's heritage as fine horses or bourbon whiskey. Louisville's own Marion Flexner gathers Kentucky's best c