The Prison Book Club

The Prison Book Club

When Ann Walmsley was asked to take part in a book club in a men’s prison, she was initially anxious: after a violent mugging a few years before, could she really cope being surrounded by violent criminals? Luckily, curiosity got the better of her, and she signed up for eighteen months of meetings with heavily tattooed inmates, talking about books ranging from The Grapes of Wrath to The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. But this wasn’t your typical book club – there was no wine and cheese, plush furniture or superficial chat about recent holidays. Classic works of fiction and non-fiction became springboards for frank discussions about loss, anger, redemption and loneliness, and for the men a prized oasis in which to regain a sense of humanity. In this heart-warming example of the rehabilitative power of reading, follow Graham the biker, Frank the gunman, Ben and Dread the drug dealers, and the robber duo Gaston and Peter as they share ideas and reveal their life stories. The Prison Book Club is unlike anything you’ve read before.

Download Now

Author
Publisher Simon and Schuster
Release Date
ISBN 1780747845
Pages 304 pages
Rating 4/5 (42 users)

More Books:

The Prison Book Club
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Ann Walmsley
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-10-01 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

GET EBOOK

When Ann Walmsley was asked to take part in a book club in a men’s prison, she was initially anxious: after a violent mugging a few years before, could she re
The Richard & Judy Book Club Reader
Language: en
Pages: 230
Authors: Dr Helen Cousins
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-05-28 - Publisher: Ashgate Publishing, Ltd.

GET EBOOK

In January 2004, daytime television presenters Richard Madeley and Judy Finnigan launched their book club and sparked debate about the way people in Britain, fr
The Prison Book Club
Language: en
Pages: 0
Authors: Ann Walmsley
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-11-01 - Publisher: Penguin

GET EBOOK

A daring journalist goes behind bars to explore the redemptive power of books with bikers, bank robbers, and gunmen. An attack in London left Ann Walmsley unabl
Telling Stories in Book Clubs
Language: en
Pages: 244
Authors: Mary Kooy
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006-08-15 - Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

GET EBOOK

This book examines questions in the intersections of narrative, teaching, communities of learning, knowledge, women teachers and teacher development. Stories co
Service Learning and Literary Studies in English
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Laurie Grobman
Categories: Language Arts & Disciplines
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-02-01 - Publisher: Modern Language Association

GET EBOOK

Service learning can help students develop a sense of civic responsibility and commitment, often while addressing pressing community needs. One goal of literary
Reading Still Matters: What the Research Reveals about Reading, Libraries, and Community
Language: en
Pages: 258
Authors: Catherine Sheldrick Ross
Categories: Language Arts & Disciplines
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-03-01 - Publisher: ABC-CLIO

GET EBOOK

Drawing on scholarly research findings, this book presents a cogent case that librarians can use to work towards prioritization of reading in libraries and in s
Reading and Mental Health
Language: en
Pages: 455
Authors: Josie Billington
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-09-04 - Publisher: Springer Nature

GET EBOOK

This book brings together into one edited volume the most compelling rationales for literary reading and health, the best current practices in this area and sta
The Book Club Bible
Language: en
Pages: 331
Authors: Various Authors
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-07-31 - Publisher: Michael O'Mara Books

GET EBOOK

With a foreword by Lionel Shriver, author of We Need To Talk About Kevin, The Book Club Bible is the essential guide to the best book club reads. Every book-clu
The Charlestown Mysteries:
Language: en
Pages: 592
Authors: Tom MacDonald
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-09-24 - Publisher: Oceanview Publishing

GET EBOOK

This two-book series is perfect for fans of Denis Lehane and fans of urban mysteries that are steeped in atmosphere—in this case—BostonDermot Sparhawk is a
Introduction to Contemporary Print Culture
Language: en
Pages: 246
Authors: Simone Murray
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-10-12 - Publisher: Routledge

GET EBOOK

Introduction to Contemporary Print Culture examines the role of the book in the modern world. It considers the book’s deeply intertwined relationships with ot