The Shoemaker and his Daughter

The Shoemaker and his Daughter

WINNER OF THE 2020 MICHEL DÉON PRIZE 'O'Clery takes us into the hidden heart of Soviet Russia... An arresting and evocative story' Keggie Carew, author of Dadland 'A tour de force ... Love, politics, murder, wars, and the fracturing of ties, personal and ethnic. O'Clery is a gifted writer' Luke Harding, bestselling author of Collusion The Soviet Union, 1962. Gifted shoemaker Stanislav Suvorov is imprisoned for five years. His crime? Selling his car for a profit. On his release, social shame drives him and his family into voluntary exile in Siberia, 5,000 kilometres from home. In a climate that's unfriendly both geographically and politically, it's their chance to start again. The Shoemaker and His Daughter is an epic story spanning the Second World War to the fall of the Soviet Union, taking in eighty years of Soviet and Russian history, from Stalin to Putin. Following the footsteps of a remarkable family Conor O'Clery knows well - he is married to the shoemaker's daughter - it's both a compelling insight into life in a secretive world at a siesmic moment in time and a powerful tale of ordinary lives shaped by extraordinary times.

Download Now

Author
Publisher National Geographic Books
Release Date
ISBN 1784163112
Pages 0 pages
Rating 4/5 (12 users)

More Books:

The Shoemaker and his Daughter
Language: en
Pages: 0
Authors: Conor O'Clery
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-06-25 - Publisher: National Geographic Books

GET EBOOK

WINNER OF THE 2020 MICHEL DÉON PRIZE 'O'Clery takes us into the hidden heart of Soviet Russia... An arresting and evocative story' Keggie Carew, author of Dadl
The Shoemaker and his Daughter
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Conor O'Clery
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-08-23 - Publisher: Random House

GET EBOOK

WINNER OF THE 2020 MICHEL DÉON PRIZE 'O'Clery takes us into the hidden heart of Soviet Russia... An arresting and evocative story' Keggie Carew, author of Dadl
The Shoemaker’s Daughter: A Novel
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Helen Martin Block
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-03-29 - Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

GET EBOOK

In 1939 Aron is a soldier in the Polish Army. Captured by the Germans his valued skills as a shoemaker protect him until his true identity is revealed. Shipped
The Shoemaker’s Daughter: A Novel
Language: en
Pages: 314
Authors: Helen Martin Block
Categories: Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-08-20 - Publisher: Lulu.com

GET EBOOK

In 1939 Aron is a soldier in the Polish Army. Captured by the Germans his valued skills as a shoemaker protect him until his true identity is revealed. Shipped
Insubordination; or, The shoemaker's daughters
Language: en
Pages: 340
Authors: Timothy Shay Arthur
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1851 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK

The Shoemaker's Daughters
Language: en
Pages: 118
Authors:
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1856 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK

The Shoemaker's Daughters
Language: en
Pages: 380
Authors: Caroline L. Smith
Categories: Animals
Type: BOOK - Published: 1866 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK

The Shoemaker's Daughter (The Cordwainers: 1)
Language: en
Pages: 480
Authors: Iris Gower
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-03-22 - Publisher: Random House

GET EBOOK

Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin, this is the powerful beginning of The Cordwainers, a series from bestselling author Iris Gower. READERS ARE L
The Indicator
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Leigh Hunt
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1820 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK

Minor Salvage
Language: en
Pages: 309
Authors: Stephen Hong Sohn
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-11 - Publisher: University of Michigan Press

GET EBOOK

Explores the forgotten archives and life writings of Korean War refugees